Patrice de Mac-Mahon, Duke of Magenta



More »

Marshal Marie Esme Patrice Maurice de MacMahon, 1st Duke of Magenta (13 June 1808 – 17 October 1893), was a French general and politician with the distinction Marshal of France. He served as Chief of State of France from 1873 to 1875 and as the second president of the Third Republic, from 1875 to 1879. He won national renown and the presidency on the basis of his military actions in the war against the Germans. The man was a devout conservative Catholic, a traditionalist who despised socialism and strongly distrusted the secular Republicans. He took very seriously his duty as the neutral guardian of the Constitution, and rejected suggestions of a monarchist coup d'état. He also refused to meet with Gambetta, the leader of the Republicans. He moved the Third Republic the system whereby the government selected by the assembly ruled France, but he also insisted on an upper chamber. At one point he overstepped his authority and dissolved the Chamber of Deputies, with the result that Republicans won the election and McMahon soon resigned and retired to private life.

Age: 85 (age at death)
Died: 16 October, 1893, Place of Death
Height: Height unknown
Nationality: Irish
Claim to Fame: One line executive summary


26 Lists »
Patrice de Mac-Mahon, Duke of Magenta appears in the following lists:

FamousFix content is contributed and edited by our readers. You are most welcome to update, correct or add information to this page. Update Information
Patrice de Mac-Mahon, Duke of Magenta

Main Details







0 Threads »
Start a discussion about Patrice de Mac-Mahon, Duke of Magenta. Register »
Follow the Patrice de Mac-Mahon, Duke of Magenta Activity Feed

Top Contributors

See All »
Would you like to contribute? Register »


This website is part of the FamousFix entertainment community. By continuing past this page, and by your continued use of this site, you agree to be bound by and abide by the Terms of Use. Loaded in 0.06 secs.
Terms of Use  |  Copyright  |  Privacy
Copyright 2006-2015, FamousFix